Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Spark plugs on a 03 CBR 600?
This may sound really dumb... but.

My cousin has an 03 F4i with 20k miles on it. He knows how to ride, but he doens't know much about upkeep. From lookin at pics, I think the plugs are probalby under the air fliter(which is under the gas tank). I know cars a lot better than I know bikes. So should I treat his bike like a car? Or is it better off having him take it to a shop? I really doubt it can be that hard, since I've been working on cars for 6 years now. He talks to one of his fellow "riders"(I guess that's what you call them..) and he says Hondas are pretty reliable and they really don't need their valves adjusted often(or at all), since they do carry the "Honda" name.

What should be done to make this bike as good new? He also says(from riding through twisties) that seems like his brakes aren't as responsive. To my knowledge everything on the bike is original. He does have some kind of slip on muffler, new brake fluid, and air filter. So I suggest that he swap out the pads, and maybe use Motul dot 4 brake fluid.

So yeah..thoughts?

Hate to sound like a total noob. :rant2:
HE NEED TO CHANGE..AIR FILTER, (MAYBE K&N) AND GET SS BRAKE LINES, DOT 4 FLUID, REBLEED THE BRAKE. 20K MIGHT BE A GOOD IDEA TO GET UR VALVES ADJUSTED..HONDA OR NOT. IF YOU WANT TO CHANGE THE SPARK, JUST REMOVE THE TANK, THAN YOU WILL HAVE ACCESS.

SORRY BOUT CAP LOCK @ WORK.
Thanks Evan.
I'm assuming that's the same with my bike 98 F3? Just yank off the tank and the air filter and spark plugs can be reached easily? Anybody know the spark plug gap on a 98 600 F3?
2001 Dakota - sold
1998 Honda CBR 600 - stock
North American Engine & Transmission
1-866-853-4420
01Dakota Wrote:I'm assuming that's the same with my bike 98 F3? Just yank off the tank and the air filter and spark plugs can be reached easily? Anybody know the spark plug gap on a 98 600 F3?

same thing =]..duno bout the gap :p got any rectifer problem with the f3?